A Curvy Girl’s Lingerie Essentials – The Vintage Inspired Bra*

A Curvy Girl's Lingerie Essentials - The Vintage Inspired Bra

Today I have the most frivolous bra of my lingerie essentials to share with you all.

Until today, my essentials have been rather tame & practical but I’m very much of the opinion that every girl needs a real pin-up bombshell bra.  It should be vintage inspired and reek of old school glamour.  It should be the type of bra that lifts your boobs and gives them great shape whilst you strut around the house in your smalls – after all, this bra is too good to hide.  Thankfully, Large Cup Lingerie were kind enough to send me just such a bra!

A Curvy Girl's Lingerie Essentials - The Vintage Inspired Bra

My ultimate in vintage glamour bra is the Parfait by Affinitas Charlotte Underwired Padded Bra – and isn’t just because it has a great name!

Now I know this isn’t a true vintage shape but I dare you to find a bullet bra in a GG cup!  Despite the moulded cup of the bra therein something very 50’s ping up about the shape and style.  The black bow and piping details feels a little bit burlesque-esque and the ultra high waisted pants really do create and emphasise a hour glass figure.

A Curvy Girl's Lingerie Essentials - The Vintage Inspired Bra

I’m wearing the 36GG in this moulded balconette bra and it does fit relatively well but I could easily have gone up a cup size to allow for monthly fluctuations in boob size. You can see in the picture above that there is just the tiniest bit of double boob so, if like me, you are between sizes then I would suggest you size up.

The 36 band is firm and fits perfectly.  It is an incredibly wide back band made from a black mesh material.  It comes up high beneath the armpit which means that my misplaced bra tissue is swept firmly back to wear it belongs.  The width also means is is incredibly supportive which really helps with uplifted shape it gives to the breasts.

A Curvy Girl's Lingerie Essentials - The Vintage Inspired Bra

The straps are also quite wide which adds to the support structure of the bar.

I ordered the high waist brief in a XXL and, as you can see, they’re a little big for me and gape slightly.  I don’t mind this though and would prefer my pants a tad too large than too small.  I am a size 18 in pants but frequently size up for comfort. These are particularly generous though.

A Curvy Girl's Lingerie Essentials - The Vintage Inspired Bra

The cups are quite deep and come with a little bit of padding which boost the cleavage to give a high, rounded shape to the breasts that looks great beneath swoop neck tops.

When undressed, the black piping on the second half of the bra really draws the attention to the enhanced cleavage so I think we can also safely call this a bedroom bra (with added practicality).

A Curvy Girl's Lingerie Essentials - The Vintage Inspired Bra

 

The bra is priced at £30 and the matching briefs are £14 so this is by no means an expensive set – especially given the glamour it adds to the lingerie drawer.

The bra also comes in multiple colours – I currently have my eye on the red.

Outfit Details

Parfait by Affinitas Charlotte Underwired Padded Bra

Parfait by Affinitas Charlotte High Waisted Brief

Have you read the rest of my lingerie essentials?

Author: Charli Russon

A plus-sized gin loving, whiskey guzzling fashion addict with a love of lace, lingerie, pretty dresses, and amazing food!

10 thoughts on “A Curvy Girl’s Lingerie Essentials – The Vintage Inspired Bra*”

  1. Are these your own designs or are you modeling them for someone? My lady would look amazing in this, as do you of course. 😉

    Like

Leave a comment