Fantasie Marianna Review*

A few months ago,  I was lucky enough to attend the Wacoal A/W17 press day for a little sneak of their future collections.    I can give you a tip bit – start saving now cause Elomi in particular are really pushing the boat out with some of the most delicious designs I’ve seen! Think emerald green babydolls, strapping details, and leopard print fit for the party and the bedroom!   Seriously – their forthcoming collection is screaming to be seen!

As part of the Wacoal press days, they offer a fitting service where you get to take a home  an item from one of their brands (Freya, Elomi, Fantasie, B*Tempted, Wacoal, and Goddess).   I nearly skipped this and planned on just telling the lovely bra fitters what size I would need (I was wearing a body that was not the easiest to get on and off).   But being in the changing room with a bevy of beauties (in this case Diana and Becky) was too much to resist.

And I’m glad I did try – I’ve changed shape a lot lately, a bit of middle age spread is seeping in, probably from travelling with work so much all of the time having an affect on my diet and exercise programme.   I don’t mind that my weight is expanding, but it does get expensive when previously beautifully fittings bras are now not quite sitting right.  Thankfully, the Fantasie Marianna* was a perfect fit – although not in my usual size!

Fantasie Marianna Review-5.png

I’m wearing the Marianna in a 36G, which is a cup size different to my normal 34H/36GG.  This surprised me as my boobs have actually been feeling a little swollen and full lately, with the dreaded double boob sneaking into many of my trusted bra choices.  But it does go to show how different styles and patterns can really alter the size you will need – just another reason we should all be trying our bras on before buying.

The Marianna is a soft cup bra with a stretch lace, I would definitely say the cup size is generous and the back band relatively firm.    The stretch lace means that the bra accommodates slightly wonky boobs like mine and allows for a little bit of fluctuation during the course of the month.

Fantasie Marianna Review-3

As you can see, the back band is tiny bit firm, causing the seam to fold across my back.  This was, however, only on first wear and the bra now fits far more comfortably with no folding of creasing of the fabric.  However, if you are between sizes then definitely size up as I’m probably a true 35 (36 is normally a tad loose, 34 a tad tight).

The set comes in a vibrant raspberry with ivory lace detail.  The back band is made from a sheer mesh in the same raspberry colour palette.   It is also available in a ghostly silver colour that is really quite beautiful.

I’m wearing the briefs in a XXL and they fit perfectly on my size 18 butt. I love how they cut quite high across the bum cheeks and hipbones without disappearing into a conventional thong shape.

Fantasie Marianna Review-6

The ivory lace detailing gives the impression of a lifted and rounded bum cheek, even though there is very little in the way of support in these pants.

The bra also gives a nice rounded shape to the breast tissue but, as with most soft cup styles, it doesn’t falsely enhance cleavage or height in the boobs.

Fantasie Marianna Review-4

The scallop detailing of the bra’s brand is very pretty, as are the little raspberry bows where the straps meet the cup.

It is an incredibly comfy and supportive bra, not allowing for too much movement within the cup meaning that your boobs remain safely constrained even whilst running for the tube (I did this on Thursday last).  It’s also one of the few bras I will wear for long business days as I know it won’t irritate under my arms.

Fantasie Marianna Review-2

The bra retails at around £38 with the matching briefs being around £18.   However, the raspberry colour is currently on sale for £25 for the bra and £14 for the brief which is quite a bargain given that Fantasie bras have a reputation of lasting the distance.

I think I may need to keep an eye out for the silver, it will be perfect for wintery parties.

C x

Author: Charli Russon

A plus-sized gin loving, whiskey guzzling fashion addict with a love of lace, lingerie, pretty dresses, and amazing food!

2 thoughts on “Fantasie Marianna Review*”

Leave a comment